Pushkar Singh Dhami Takes Oath As Uttarakhand Chief Minister For Second Term, PM Modi Present


Along with Mr Dhami, his cabinet will also be administered the oath today.


Pushkar Singh Dhami took oath as the chief minister of Uttarakhand for a second term at Dehradun’s Parade Ground in the presence of the top BJP brass. 

Mr Dhami took oath in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP president JP Nadda and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari.

Other BJP leaders including Yogi Adityanath, Pramod Sawant and Meenakshi Lekhi were also present at the grand event.

Eight Cabinet ministers were sworn in along with Mr Dhami. Five of them – Satpal Maharaj, Subodh Uniyal, Dhan Singh Rawat, Rekha Arya and Ganesh Joshi – took oath for the second consecutive term. 

There were three first-timers – Chandan Ram Das, Saurabh Bahuguna and Prem Chand Aggarwal.

Ending long suspense over the Chief Minister face, the BJP on Monday elected Mr Dhami as the leader of the legislature party in Uttarakhand.

The legislative party meeting was led by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Union Minister of State for External Affairs Meenakshi Lekhi.

The BJP’s dilemma on the choice of a chief minister was caused by Mr Dhami’s loss in Khatima, a seat he had been winning since the 2012 Assembly polls. Mr Dhami had lost to Congress candidate Bhuwan Chandra Kapri from Khatima by a margin of 6,579 votes.

The BJP won 47 seats in the 70-member Assembly in the recently concluded state elections. With this, the BJP has become the first party ever in Uttarakhand’s 21-year-old history to return to power in consecutive elections.